The single one

Have you ever been in the situation where you’re out with your friend and their partner, or friends and partners and you’re the only single one? Yeah? That’s me, all the time! 

All of my friends are in relationships. Making me the odd one out. Ugh. I hate that feeling of loneliness. Though, to be fair to my friends they include me in what they’re doing. 

Tonight I celebrated a colleagues birthday and a few people dropped out. There ended up being 13 altogether. What a number! Everyone was sat opposite their partner while I was sat opposite an empty chair. Doesn’t make it easy either when I have awful social anxiety and it takes ages for people to get to know me, so meals where I don’t know everyone can be awkward. The past me would have made an excuse not to go but now I try not to focus on it and I don’t let situations like this consume me. I ended up having a good time. 

I don’t want to miss out on experiences just because I am ‘alone’. I want to be out there having fun and making the most of what I can, especially when nights out are a rarity now.

I know it’s easier said than done, believe me I know, but if you’re in a similar situation try not to worry about being the odd one out. Why should you worry about that? I’d presume you’d been invited because they wanted YOUR company. Whatever that company may be like, they wanted to be in it. 

Leave a Reply

