What is Christmas about for you?

IMG_1733

Christmas seems to come around earlier and earlier each year. This is due to the fact that decorations are in the shops at the end of August, which to me takes away the magic of Christmas and just brings more greed.

Even when the decorations are in the stores I hardly see any decorations about why we have Christmas in the first place. I myself am not religious. I was christened, though I do not practice. This does not mean I am not interested about Christmas and how it came about in the first place. We do not know the full facts, though without the beliefs of others Christmas would not be how it is today.

Christmas now seems to be about who has done their Christmas shopping the earliest? Who has the biggest pile of presents posted on Facebook? By the time Christmas is finally here I am not excited, that all seems to have been sucked out of me by December.

For me, Christmas is about family. A lot of my family live within 20 minutes of each other and we can see each other whenever we want, though Christmas is when we all get together. Even if there are family members who do not necessarily get on great with each other, they make an effort at Christmas.

I love Christmas traditions, I always put the tree up, always! It’s always after the first week of December and we take the decorations down at least a week after Christmas. I know some people who put their decorations up in November and take them down Boxing day. That does not seem right to me, but to them, maybe it’s their tradition? We do not eat a cooked dinner on Christmas, we do that on Boxing Day. We would like to enjoy the day and so we have a cooked breakfast and then a small buffet in the evening. During the day we visit my sister and her nieces. In the afternoons we relax and watch films or play games. To me, Christmas is about family. I feel bad for those who do not have anyone to share it with and I am hoping to find different ways of helping those in need, such as inviting an elderly person to our home for Christmas who would otherwise be alone.

As soon as Christmas day has passed, as the day of giving has finished, the sales start and the magic has gone. I miss the days where the shops were closed for a few days and people spent time with their families and played with the toys they were given. I like nothing more than seeing children playing with their new bikes, scooters and Go-Karts on Christmas day, with the family.

I hope the magic doesn’t continue to disappear.

Leave a Reply

