The single life

As I’ve said before, I don’t mind being single. I like my own company and I think you need to be happy with yourself and your life if you want to share that with someone else and not just make them your whole life. Saying that, it also sucks at times.

Tonight I was at a wedding. The third one I’ve been to in the space of 4 months; the third one where I’ve watched my friends show their love for one another; the third one where I’ve felt completely happy for them, and the third one where I’ve been reminded how far away from that I am.

I have loved going to these and being able to share these moments with my friends but then I can’t get away from the fact at how lonely I feel at them. Such as tonight when the couples got upto dance, it was such a lovely moment to watch them but also a stab in the heart for me. I feel so many different emotions at these events. I don’t want to feel upset but I do, at the exact same time that I am feeling completely happy for those around me. Isn’t it weird?

Then last night when I was at a fair with my friend and her husband. It’s awful being the third wheel when rides are involved!

I try not to think about it too much because I know that if I do, I will feel so down and alone and I don’t want to be like that. I also know I am not the only one who is single within their group of friends and there are many out there who feel the same.

It sucks! Especially when it’s £20 in taxi fairs to get to and from a wedding on your own.

Leave a Reply

